ShortList is supported by you, our amazing readers. When you click through the links on our site and make a purchase we may earn a commission. Learn more

Here are all the winners from the 2017 Oscars

Let's cut to the chase, who won what?

Here are all the winners from the 2017 Oscars
27 February 2017

Hollywood’s golden night. The most glorious, star-studded evening in film throughout the year. Thousands of hours of hard work, inspiration, perspiration and striving to make the very best movies that you possibly can, and what’s everyone talking about?

The wrong film being announced as winner of Best Picture.

To be fair, it was utterly excruciating.

But let that not obscure the fact that a host of superb films, and a lot of talented people received the recognition that they deserved. So let’s cut to the chase – here are all the winners from the 2017 Academy Awards. La La Land won big, with 6 Oscars out of a record-equalling 14 nominations – but it didn’t win the big one.

Best picture

Winner: Moonlight

Nominated: Arrival, Fences, Hacksaw Ridge, Hell or High Water, Hidden Figures, La La Land, Lion, Manchester by the Sea

Best actress

Winner: Emma Stone - La La Land

Nominated: Isabelle Huppert - Elle, Ruth Negga - Loving, Natalie Portman - Jackie, Meryl Streep - Florence Foster Jenkins

Best actor

Winner: Casey Affleck - Manchester by the Sea

Nominated: Andrew Garfield - Hacksaw Ridge, Ryan Gosling - La La Land, Viggo Mortensen - Captain Fantastic, Denzel Washington - Fences

Best supporting actress

Winner: Viola Davis - Fences

Nominated: Naomie Harris - Moonlight, Nicole Kidman - Lion, Octavia Spencer - Hidden Figures, Michelle Williams - Manchester by the Sea

Best supporting actor

Winner: Mahershala Ali - Moonlight

Nominated: Jeff Bridges - Hell or High Water, Lucas Hedges - Manchester by the Sea, Dev Patel - Lion, Michael Shannon - Nocturnal Animals

Best director

Winner: La La Land - Damien Chazelle

Nominated: Arrival - Denis Villeneuve, Hacksaw Ridge - Mel Gibson, Manchester by the Sea - Kenneth Lonergan, Moonlight - Barry Jenkins

Best original screenplay

Winner: Manchester by the Sea - Kenneth Lonergan

Nominated: 20th Century Women - Mike Mills, Hell or High Water - Taylor Sheridan, La La Land - Damien Chazelle, The Lobster - Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou

Best adapted screenplay

Winner: Moonlight - Barry Jenkins and Alvin McCraney

Nominated: Arrival - Eric Heisserer, Fences - August Wilson, Hidden Figures - Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi, Lion - Luke Davies

Best original score

Winner: La La Land - Justin Hurwitz

Nominated: Jackie - Mica Levi, Lion - Dustin O'Halloran and Hauschka, Moonlight - Nicholas Britell, Passengers - Thomas Newton

Best original song

Winner: La La Land - City of Stars by Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

Nominated: La La Land - Audition by Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, Moana - How Far I'll Go by Lin-Manuel Miranda, Trolls - Can't Stop the Feeling by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster, Jim: The James Foley Story - The Empty Chair by J Ralph and Sting

Best cinematography

Winner: La La Land - Linus Sandgren

Nominated: Arrival - Bradford Young, Lion - Greig Fraser, Moonlight - James Laxton, Silence - Rodrigo Prieto

Best foreign language film

Winner: The Salesman - Iran

Nominated: A Man Called Ove - Sweden, Land of Mine - Denmark, Tanna - Australia, Toni Erdmann - Germany

Best costume design

Winner: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them - Colleen Atwood

Nominated: Allied - Joanna Johnston, Florence Foster Jenkins - Consolata Boyle, Jackie - Madeline Fontaine, La La Land - Mary Zophres

Best make-up and hairstyling

Winner: Suicide Squad - Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson

Nominated: A Man Called Ove - Eva Von Bahr and Love Larson, Star Trek Beyond - Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo

Best documentary feature

Winner: OJ: Made in America

Nominated: 13th, Fire At Sea, I Am Not Your Negro, Life, Animated

Best sound editing

Winner: Arrival - Sylvain Bellemare

Nominated: Deepwater Horizon - Wylie Stateman and Renee Tondelli, Hacksaw Ridge - Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright, La La Land - Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Sully - Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Best sound mixing

Winner: Hacksaw Ridge - Kevin O'Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace

Nominated: 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi - Gary Summers, Jeffrey J Haboush and Mac Ruth, Arrival - Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude La Haye, La La Land - Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A Morrow, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story - David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

Best animated short

Winner: Piper - Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer

Nominated: Blind Vaysha - Theodore Ushev, Borrowed Time - Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj, Pear Cider and Cigarettes - Robert Valley and Cara Speller, Pearl - Patrick Osborne

Best animated feature

Winner: Zootopia

Nominated: Kubo and the Two Strings, Moana, My Life as a Zucchini, The Red Turtle

Best production design

Winner: La La Land - David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco

Nominated: Arrival - Patrice Vermette and Paul Hotte, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them - Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock, Hail, Caesar! - Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh, Passengers - Guy Hendrix Dyas and Gene Serdena

Best visual effects

Winner: The Jungle Book - Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R Jones and Dan Lemmon

Nominated: Deepwater Horizon - Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton, Doctor Strange - Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould, Kubo and the Two Strings - Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story - John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould

Best film editing

Winner: Hacksaw Ridge - John Gilbert

Nominated: Arrival - Joe Walker, Hell or High Water - Jake Roberts, La La Land - Tom Cross, Moonlight - Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Best documentary short

Winner: The White Helmets - Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

Nominated: 4.1 Miles - Daphne Matziaraki, Extremis - Dan Krauss, Joe's Violin - Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen, Watani: My Homeland - Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis

Best live action short

Winner: Sing - Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy

Nominated: Ennemis Interieurs - Selim Azzazi, La Femme et le TGV - Timo Von Gunten and Giacun Caduff, Silent Nights - Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson, Timecode - Juanjo Gimenez

(Image: Rex)