This site contains affiliate links to products. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links. Learn more

Frank Ocean releases surprise new 'visual album'

It's not the 'real' one though folks

Frank Ocean releases surprise new 'visual album'

Like all good buses, after waiting years for a new Frank Ocean album, two are coming along at once.

Now, you're going to have to concentrate because this isn't straightforward.

The new record, the first new music since 2012's Channel Orange, and released exclusively on Apple Music for the time being, is called Endless, and is a visual album. From what we've seen on various YouTube uploads, which have been swiftly taken down, the footage has been shot in the same warehouse as seen earlier this month when he hosted a livestream of instrumental tracks while he slowly built boxes. This time, he's building a staircase. Honestly, it's crazy stuff.

This is the tracklisting for Endless, which features contributions from Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood, James Blake, Jazmine Sullivan, Sampha and Arca, while also featuring contributions from London Contemporary Orchestra, conducted by Robert Ames:

1. Device Control (written by Wolfgang Tillmans)
2. At Your Best (You Are Love) (The Isley Brothers Cover)
3. Alabama
4. Mine
5. U-N-I-T-Y
6. Ambience 001: “In a Certain Way”
7. Commes Des Garcons
8. Ambience 002: “Honeybaby”
9. Wither
10. Hublots
11. In Here Somewhere
12. Slide on Me
13. Sideways
14. Florida
15. Deathwish (ASR)
16. Rushes
17. Rushes To
18. Higgs

However, it is seemingly not his 'proper' new album. That is still to come, and is apparently no longer called Boys Don't Cry, the title which has been knocking about for a long while. According to Pitchfork, an Apple Music representative says to, "keep an eye out this weekend for more from Frank", suggesting that it could be released very soon.

You can head to Apple Music to hear the album.