Books

Gerald’s Game Heading to the Big Screen

Stephen King fans are in for a box office treat over the next few years, as yet another of the prolific author's novels has been optioned for a film.

This time, it's the 1992 book Gerald's Game that will get the Hollywood treatment; Mike Flanagan (Oculus/Absentia) will direct, having written the script with his usual writing partner Jeff Howard. Trevor Macy's Intrepid Pictures will produce, as they did for Flanagan's previous two horror films.

There doesn't seem to be any hanging about: casting is taking place now, with filming due to start in the Autumn. There's already speculation about how exactly this book will translate to the big screen: it's a dark novel, with much of the 'action' taking place within the mind of the lead character Jessie.

However, Flanagan (pictured above) seems confident, saying, "In the tradition of Misery and Dolores Claiborne, Gerald’s Game is one of the most intense and compelling novels I’ve ever read, and this has been a dream project for many years. Trevor and I are very excited to help translate that experience for an audience."

[via Deadline]

(Images: Rex)