Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
Top

Gerald's Game Heading to the Big Screen

gerald4.jpg
gerald1.jpg
gerald3.jpg
615x330-kinghero1.jpg
615x330-kinghero2.jpg

Stephen King fans are in for a box office treat over the next few years, as yet another of the prolific author's novels has been optioned for a film.

This time, it's the 1992 book Gerald's Game that will get the Hollywood treatment; Mike Flanagan (Oculus/Absentia) will direct, having written the script with his usual writing partner Jeff Howard. Trevor Macy's Intrepid Pictures will produce, as they did for Flanagan's previous two horror films.

There doesn't seem to be any hanging about: casting is taking place now, with filming due to start in the Autumn. There's already speculation about how exactly this book will translate to the big screen: it's a dark novel, with much of the 'action' taking place within the mind of the lead character Jessie.

However, Flanagan (pictured above) seems confident, saying, "In the tradition of Misery and Dolores Claiborne, Gerald’s Game is one of the most intense and compelling novels I’ve ever read, and this has been a dream project for many years. Trevor and I are very excited to help translate that experience for an audience."

[via Deadline]

(Images: Rex)

Related

kathy_bates - misery.jpg

Top 10 Scariest Stephen King Scenes

r-the-dome-poster-saf22409.jpg

10 Things We Know About Under The Dome Season 2

shininghero1.jpg

The Shining In 8-Bit

kinghero2.jpg

30 Pieces Of Wisdom From Stephen King

10186738RS.jpg

Swim yourself fitter

king.jpg

20 Things You (Probably) Didn't Know About Stephen King

stephen-king-sons-of-anarchy.jpg

6 of Stephen King's best on-screen cameos

king-hero.jpg

10 Stephen King Stories That Should Be Made Into Movies

stone-hero.jpg

It's Mr Stone...

Comments

More

Harry Potter fans can now discover their Patronus

Don't lie, you want to give it a go, don't you? by David Cornish

23 Sep 2016

20 Things You (Probably) Didn't Know About Stephen King

21 Sep 2016

Your chance to see excellent US author Donald Ray Pollock

And also have a beer! Win win

08 Sep 2016

Return to a nineties classic: Chuck Palahniuk on Fight Club

20 years since Fight Club, the author tells us how he’d rewrite his seminal novel for 2016

17 Aug 2016

Details announced for new Partridge book

'Nomad' will arrive this autumn

21 Jul 2016

13 famous books that had very different working titles

by Chris Sayer

10 Jun 2016

George RR Martin has just confirmed this brilliant GOT fan theory

A badass character gets a badass back story by David Cornish

01 Jun 2016

Twitter account Photoshops 90s’ books to give them titles they deserve

12 Apr 2016

You're going to want these stunning new Shakespeare books

The books your bookshelf deserves by David Cornish

12 Apr 2016

Shakespeare's First Folio has been discovered on a Scottish island

07 Apr 2016