Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
Top

Gerald's Game Heading to the Big Screen

gerald4.jpg
gerald1.jpg
gerald3.jpg
615x330-kinghero1.jpg
615x330-kinghero2.jpg

Stephen King fans are in for a box office treat over the next few years, as yet another of the prolific author's novels has been optioned for a film.

This time, it's the 1992 book Gerald's Game that will get the Hollywood treatment; Mike Flanagan (Oculus/Absentia) will direct, having written the script with his usual writing partner Jeff Howard. Trevor Macy's Intrepid Pictures will produce, as they did for Flanagan's previous two horror films.

There doesn't seem to be any hanging about: casting is taking place now, with filming due to start in the Autumn. There's already speculation about how exactly this book will translate to the big screen: it's a dark novel, with much of the 'action' taking place within the mind of the lead character Jessie.

However, Flanagan (pictured above) seems confident, saying, "In the tradition of Misery and Dolores Claiborne, Gerald’s Game is one of the most intense and compelling novels I’ve ever read, and this has been a dream project for many years. Trevor and I are very excited to help translate that experience for an audience."

[via Deadline]

(Images: Rex)

Related

kathy_bates - misery.jpg

Top 10 Scariest Stephen King Scenes

r-the-dome-poster-saf22409.jpg

10 Things We Know About Under The Dome Season 2

shininghero1.jpg

The Shining In 8-Bit

kinghero2.jpg

30 Pieces Of Wisdom From Stephen King

10186738RS.jpg

Swim yourself fitter

king.jpg

20 Things You (Probably) Didn't Know About Stephen King

stephen-king-sons-of-anarchy.jpg

6 of Stephen King's best on-screen cameos

king-hero.jpg

10 Stephen King Stories That Should Be Made Into Movies

stone-hero.jpg

It's Mr Stone...

Comments

More

I judged the International Booker Prize shortlist by their covers

So the saying doesn't go

by Gary Ogden
28 Apr 2017

Women fancy men who read and this is the book that impresses them most

But it doesn't work the other way

by Tom Mendelsohn
28 Apr 2017

The physical Amazon bookstore is using really cool ways to group books

Online meets the real world

by Dave Fawbert
03 Apr 2017

14 new books you need to read in April

The best picks for your reading pile this month

by Dan Dalton
31 Mar 2017

This bookshop is giving clickbait titles to all the classics

"Teenage girl tricked boyfriend into killing himself" - anyone?

by Emily Reynolds
31 Mar 2017

These bored book store employees deserve all the Instagram followers

Bookface goes French at Librairie Mollat

by Dave Fawbert
21 Mar 2017

Philip Pullman has just saved us all from Real Life

Here's what we know about 'Book of Dust'

15 Feb 2017

Orwell’s 1984 book sales spike after Trump’s inauguration

We've gone full blown Orwellian now

by Jamie Carson
25 Jan 2017

Mark Twain's unfinished children's story to be released this year

Find out when The Purloining of Prince Oleomargarine will hit the shelves

24 Jan 2017

These are the books Barack Obama says everyone should read this year

Be like Barack

by Sam Diss
17 Jan 2017